RSS Feed

Of Danny and Deadlines

Updates have been pretty slim this week, and that will probably hold true for the coming week, too. I had two big deadlines last week, and I’ve got four more coming up before the end of the month. Which is great for money, and career, and feeling useful. It’s not so great for maintaining a blog devoted to my dog.

I do, however, remain devoted to my dog and happy to have him, even when I’m up to my neck in freelance writing and editing projects. Every morning after breakfast, he has to take a walk for at least 45 minutes. There is no way around this. I pop on my headphones and plan my day as we walk, or I completely ignore my to-do list for at least 45 minutes before I must tackle it.

In the afternoon, Danny arrives next to my desk chair and starts butting the underside of my right wrist with his nose. This is my sign to quit working and take him for a 2- or 3-mile walk or run, depending on how frisky we feel. All work must stop, all end-of-the-workday fretting must end, and laces must be laced. Often, I find that getting outside with Coach Danny for a bit clears my head so I can return to my desk for a quick wrap-up on a project before dinner.

So though I might neglect this blog a bit for a couple of weeks, rest assured that Danny is in no way being neglected. Neither, by the way, are the dogs I volunteer to walk at the Humane Society. All dog walking proceeds as per usual.

One response »

  1. I am going through something very similar. My new job is taking up much more of my time than I expected. While I can neglect my blog, I cannot neglect my dog so in order to spend the right amount of time with her, reading and writing have to be put aside. I hope things settle eventually for the both of us. Have a great week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

